Skip to main content

Honorary Aldermen named at special ceremony

This news article was published more than a year ago. Some of the information may no longer be accurate.

Published: 10/12/2015

Six former South Gloucestershire councillors have been made Honorary Aldermen at a special ceremony which took place before full Council on Wednesday 9 December.

John Calway, Sheila Cook, John Godwin, Alan Lawrance, Mike Robbins and Terry Walker were each given the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of their eminent service as past members of the council.

Cllr Erica Williams, Chair of South Gloucestershire Council, presented the awards. She said: “The title of Honorary Alderman is bestowed to individuals who have contributed a great deal to their local council.

“All six Aldermen enjoyed long and distinguished roles in the council and this special ceremony has been an opportunity to honour and celebrate all of their achievements.”

The Honorary Aldermen who attended the meeting were presented with a framed certificate by the Chairman Cllr Erica Williams.

Honorary Aldermen with Chairman

Is there anything wrong with this page?