Skip to main content

Dedicated community members to receive an award

This news article was published more than a year ago. Some of the information may no longer be accurate.

Published: 02/04/2012

Cllr Mike Drew, Chairman of South Gloucestershire Council, Nigel Eagers, Vice Principal of South Gloucestershire & Stroud College and the Lord Lieutenant of Gloucestershire Dame Janet Trotter will welcome winners of the 2012 chair’s community awards at a special event in Filton.

The annual awards event, which is sponsored by South Gloucestershire & Stroud College, is now in its tenth year and is a wonderful way to celebrate the hard work and dedication of volunteers in the community who display outstanding commitment in giving up their time and effort to help others. More than 350 people have received an award since the scheme started in 2003.

Cllr Mike Drew, Chairman of South Gloucestershire Council, said: “I am looking forward to meeting everyone and congratulating them on all their hard work. The time and effort given by these local volunteers plays a vital role in helping to bring communities together across South Gloucestershire. These awards give the council the perfect opportunity to recognise and show its appreciation of these unsung heroes.”

For the first time in the event’s history, Lord Lieutenant Dame Janet Trotter will be attending the event and will present her own award from the assembled winners.

Is there anything wrong with this page?