Skip to main content

And the winners are

This news article was published more than a year ago. Some of the information may no longer be accurate.

Published: 03/04/2012

The winners and presenters of the awards


[back row, left to right] Nigel Eagers (South Gloucestershire and Stroud College), Dame Janet Trotter, Deputy Lord Lieutenant Robert Bernays, Cllr Mike Drew; [front row, left to right] Mark Shepherd and Michael Fautley.

These people give up their time freely to help others and bring our communities together and they were rewarded for all their efforts at a special ceremony attended by the Chairman, Cllr Mike Drew and Dame Janet Trotter, the Lord Lieutenant of Gloucestershire. 

There were 28 winners in total who were presented with certificates by Cllr Mike Drew. Dame Janet Trotter, who attended for the first time in the event’s history, presented an award to Mark Shepherd and Michael Fautley for their valued services to community life in South Gloucestershire. 

Dame Janet Trotter said: “All of the category winners have achieved much for their local communities. We decided to honour two people out of this group, winners of winners if you like, who showed consistent effort and commitment and also worked with marginalised and vulnerable people. It was difficult to choose between the two candidates so we decided to honour both this year.” 

Councillor Mike Drew said: “I was amazed at the incredible commitment shown by all the volunteers. Their work makes a significant contribution to the quality of life of so many people within the South Gloucestershire community. Without them, community life in our area would be much poorer.” 

He added: “I was also delighted that this year we again had a number of young volunteers.”

Is there anything wrong with this page?