Skip to main content

Coronavirus (Covid-19): service updates, support and health advice.

Devolution and the West of England Combined Authority

Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol and South Gloucestershire councils voted to proceed with a devolution deal.

As a result, the new West of England Combined Authority was established in February 2017.

Through the Combined Authority, more decisions will be made locally on areas such as transport, housing and skills. Previously these decisions have been made by central government in London.

The three councils will continue to control delivery of frontline services to their residents.

The Combined Authority members are Cllr Tim Warren, Leader of B&NES Council; Marvin Rees, Mayor of Bristol, and Cllr Matthew Riddle, Leader of South Gloucestershire Council.

Following the West of England Mayoral election on 4 May 2017, the combined authority is chaired by the West of England Mayor Tim Bowles.

The West of England Combined Authority will also work with partners including the West of England Local Enterprise Partnership, North Somerset Council and others, to deliver economic growth for the wider region.

Is there anything wrong with this page?