Skip to main content

Chair of Council

South Gloucestershire Council has a Chair and Vice-Chair of Council rather than a mayor and deputy mayor.

The Chair of Council and in his absence, the Vice Chair, is the civic leader and first citizen of the community of South Gloucestershire.

The Chair of Council is elected each year at the annual Council meeting and represents the council at civic functions and chairs full Council meetings. The Chair should not be confused with the Leader or Deputy Leader of the Council who provide political leadership for the Council.

Chair of Council, Councillor Sanjay Chambhu

Chair of Council, Councillor Sanjay Shambhu


Vice Chair of Council, Councillor Judy Adams

Vice Chair of Council, Councillor Judy Adams


Both Councillor Sanjay Shambhu and Councillor Judy Adams are keen to be involved in as many local activities within South Gloucestershire as possible. They would therefore be happy to attend any local events such as official openings of new buildings, launching of new projects, award ceremonies, local festivals, concerts, church services, schools and elderly persons homes etc.

Chair’s events

The Chair of Council will be expected to host events during their year of office. This normally includes a Civic Service and reception and the Community Awards Ceremony.

Charity work

Although it is not intended that a major part of the Chair’s role is to raise funds for charity, it is normal practice for the Chair to choose and support one or more charities whose work supports residents within the South Gloucestershire area.

Citizenship ceremonies

Both the Chair and Vice Chair are expected to attend the Citizenship ceremonies which are held on a monthly basis in the evening at Kingswood Civic Centre. This is where immigrants to the country who have successfully applied for British citizenship attend a special ceremony to take the oath of allegiance to the Queen and pledge their loyalty to the UK. The Chair’s role is to welcome everyone and to hand out the certificates and gifts.

Contact details

The Chair may be contacted by email at by telephoning 01454 863019 or by writing to the Chair at:

Chair of Council, PO BOX 1953, Council Offices, Badminton Road, Yate, Bristol. BS37 0DB.


Is there anything wrong with this page?