Skip to main content

Coronavirus (Covid-19): service updates, support and health advice.

Get Digital – learn basic online skills for free at a South Gloucestershire centre

There are so many things you can do on the internet. It could make everyday tasks a lot easier, save you time and money and allow you to do more of the things you like doing best. It can help you get in touch with people wherever they are in the world at the click of a button. You can find information on whatever you are interested in from fishing to football. Millions of people use the internet every day as it helps make their life easier, and you could join them.

Choose the type of support you need

  • 60 minutes of free 1:1 support with one of our trained volunteer Digital Champions
  • take a course with one of our partners: SGS College or South Gloucestershire Community Learning and Skills Service
  • self-guided online learning

Free 1:1 support session with a Digital Champion

Whether you have never touched a computer before and want to get started with the basics or can do a little but want to know more, we are here to help you. Our friendly Digital Champions are on hand for 1:1 support with whatever you want to learn about.

See what our residents are saying about the sessions by watching the video below. This video was recorded before March 2020. For the safety of everyone, our Digital Champions now provide support in line with current coronavirus government guidance and our coronavirus risk assessment.

What you can learn in a 60 minute 1:1 session with a Digital Champion

You do not need to have any IT skills to attend a session.

Our Digital Champions can help with topics such as:

  • using email
  • staying safe online
  • using online searches
  • completing online forms
  • creating documents

How to book your 1:1 session with a Digital Champion

Our Digital Champions will be *coming soon* to selected libraries.

Advance booking is essential – there are three ways to book your free 60 minute 1:1 session:

  • visit the library during staffed hours and speak to library staff
  • email the library
  • phone 01454 865022 (lines open Mon-Fri 10-4 and Sat 9.30-12)
Library Postcode Email address Day and time
Downend Library BS16 5TW downend.library@southglos.gov.uk Mondays 10am to 12pm
Emersons Green Library BS16 7AP emersonsgreen.library@southglos.gov.uk Fridays 2pm to 4pm
Hanham Library BS15 3EJ hanham.library@southglos.gov.uk Tuesdays 10am to 12pm
Staple Hill Library BS16 5LS staplehill.library@southglos.gov.uk Tuesdays 2pm to 4pm
Thornbury Library BS35 2AA thornbury.library@southglos.gov.uk Thursdays 10am to 1pm
Winterbourne Library BS36 1LA winterbourne.library@southglos.gov.uk Saturdays 10am to 12pm
Yate Library BS37 4AX yate.library@southglos.gov.uk Fridays 11am to 1pm

 

Computer courses in selected libraries

If you’re looking to develop your skills further with a short course, we work in partnership with SGS College and South Gloucestershire Community Learning and Skills Service to offer computer courses in small groups at selected libraries.

SGS College offer free 17 week courses at Downend Library (Tuesdays); Bradley Stoke Library (Wednesdays) and Winterbourne Library (Thursdays). There are two start dates: September 2021 and February 2022

Skills you can learn on these courses include:

  • video chat with friends and family online
  • online shopping and how to buy groceries
  • using the internet to search for information
  • how to compare prices online
  • understanding email, messages and attachments
  • learn about safety and security when working online

For bookings or further questions please contact Cindy on 0117 9092296 or email cindy.corbett@sgscol.ac.uk

South Gloucestershire Community Learning and Skills Service offer a range of IT learning opportunities across many venues, including libraries, see their website for full details.

Self-guided online learning

Develop skills at your own pace and convenience with online learning: a number of websites can provide support.

Is there anything wrong with this page?