Skip to main content

Equality framework for local government

We were externally assessed as achieving level 3 of the Equality Standard for Local Government (ESLG) “by a significant margin, with deeply embedded processes which clearly demonstrate a genuine commitment to the principles of equality and diversity” in May 2008.

Following a robust self-assessment in December 2009, the council demonstrated meeting the full requirements of level 4 of the ESLG.  In order to achieve level 4, the council demonstrated its practices in four key areas:

  1. leadership and corporate commitment
  2. consultation, community development and scrutiny
  3. customer care and service delivery
  4. employment and training

The ESLG has been replaced by the Equality Framework for Local Government (EFLG). Currently, the Equality Frameworks are owned and resourced by the Local Government Association.

Is there anything wrong with this page?